Chef: Training, further education, overview of providers, self-test

to providers
(2)
Infos, tips & tests Video stories
(1)

Are you interested in chef training, further training? - Here you will find suitable schools as well as further information, tips and resources for further training.

Would you like personal advice on professional examinations? Take a look at the suitable schools and contact the provider of your choice with one click via the "Free information on the topic..." button - without obligation, quickly and easily.

Self-test "Chef with a federal certificate": Is this course the right one for me?

You can find out more about the requirements, content, costs and duration of the course in our information, tips and tests.

Download checklists

Checklist «Finding the right further training» » download here

Checklist «Choosing the right school» » download here

Head chef: Former training as a catering chef for a career in the kitchen

The former training as a "chef in hospital, residential and communal catering" or "catering chef" has been called "head chef (BP)" since 2001 and 2011 respectively. Chefs are considered experts in the application of cooking methods and the design and creation of culinary dishes and products. They manage the kitchen of a restaurant, hotel or other business or institution expertly and professionally. In doing so, they always draw on their sound specialist knowledge in the areas of marketing, business organization and costing. Chefs are regarded as leaders in the catering kitchen and are therefore responsible for apprentices and all employees.

The training as a head chef (BP) is completed on a part-time basis and lasts approximately one year. It comprises the following modules:

  • Cookery and food science
  • Sales and marketing
  • Company organization
  • Finances
  • Guidance

The prerequisite for admission to the further training course is a completed apprenticeship as a chef with a federal certificate of competence or an equivalent qualification. In addition, at least three years of professional experience as a chef and a completed master teacher course (vocational trainer course) are required.

You can find more information in our self-test.

Questions and answers

In principle, it is not mandatory to attend a preparation course, but it is highly recommended. Here you will be taught the knowledge and skills required for the BP in a practice-oriented manner. In order to be admitted to the final examination, you will need the relevant module qualifications or module certificates. In addition, equivalence assessment procedures can be very time-consuming.

You cannot become a head chef directly after completing an apprenticeship. You need to acquire all the necessary skills and competencies on a progressive basis. This means that you first train as a chef with a Federal Diploma of Vocational Education and Training (VET Diploma) and, after a few years of work experience, begin continuing education, further training as a head chef.

Professional experience after basic training as a chef is essential to start continuing education, further training as a chef FPE. You must have at least three years of professional experience in your profession before taking the Federal Professional Examination.

As continuing education, further training to become a chef with a Federal VET Diploma is a part-time course, the course times are of course also tailored to your profession as a Federal VET Diploma chef. In this case, this means that you do not attend a course once or twice a week in the evening or at the weekend, but attend block courses over the course of a year. This gives you the opportunity to take time off at these times and attend six block courses of five days each.

The continuing education, further training for the Federal Professional Examination "Chef with Federal Diploma of Higher Education" corresponds to the former title of "Gastronomy Chef".

Tips, tests and information on "Chef with a federal certificate"

Is the "Chef with federal certificate / Chef with EFA" course suitable for me?
» Self-test
What is required in the job of head chef? How are the tasks divided up?
» Information from job advertisements

Redaktionelle Leitung:

Stefan Schmidlin, Bildungsberatung, Content-Team Modula AG

Quellen

Website des Schweizerischen Sekretariats für Bildung, Forschung und Innovation SBFI , Website www.berufsberatung.ch (offizielles schweizerisches Informationsportal der Studien-, Berufs- und Laufbahnberatung) sowie Websites und anderweitige Informationen der Berufsverbände und Bildungsanbieter.

Erfahrungen, Bewertungen und Meinungen zur Ausbildung / Weiterbildung

Preview of the video «4 Schritte zur richtigen Weiterbildung»

Haven't found the right training or further education yet? Benefit from educational advice now!

Further training is not only important in order to maintain or increase professional attractiveness, investing in training or further training is still the most efficient way to increase the chances of a pay rise.

The Swiss education system offers a wide range of individual training and further education opportunities - depending on your personal level of education, professional experience and educational goals.

Choosing the right educational offer is not easy for many prospective students.

Which training and further education is the right one for my path?

Our education advisory team will guide you through the "education jungle", providing specific input and relevant background information to help you choose the right offer.

Your advantages:

You will receive

  • Suggestions for suitable courses, seminars or training programs based on the information you provide in the questionnaire
  • An overview of the different levels and types of education
  • Information about the Swiss education system

We offer our educational counseling in the following languages on request: French, Italian, English

Register now and concretize your training plans.

 

Sofort zur richtigen Weiterbildung

Filter by teaching method:
Classroom (0) Online (0) Blended Learning (0) Other (0)
Address:
Eichistrasse 20
6353 Weggis
Hotel & Gastro formation Switzerland
Plan your career with Hotel & Gastro formation - we will lead you to success with federal certificates and diplomas in the hospitality industry. We have been serving the hotel and catering industry since 1926 and offer you exciting further training courses in the most beautiful location on Lake Lucerne in Weggis.
Region: Westschweiz, Zentralschweiz
Sites: Lonay, Weggis
Address:
Blumenfeldstrasse 22
8046 Zürich
GastroZurich Education Center
Gastro Kanton Zürich - Strong together for the hospitality industry
Gastro Kanton Zürich represents the interests of the hospitality industry in public and with the authorities. All our efforts are aimed at providing restaurateurs with the best conditions for successful hospitality.
In our training center, we offer a comprehensive, attractive and up-to-date range of courses for hospitality industry training and continuing education, further training. Our courses promote professional and personal skills and help restaurateurs to run their businesses successfully.
Region: Zürich
Sites: Zürich

Schulen mit zertifizierter Bildungsberatung

Cuisinier / cuisinière en chef : formation, formation continue, aperçu des prestataires, test d'auto-évaluation

vers les fournisseurs
(2)
Infos, conseils & tests Histoires vidéo
(1)

Vous êtes intéressé par une formation de chef cuisinier, une formation continue ? - Vous trouverez ici les écoles qui vous conviennent ainsi que d'autres informations, conseils et outils pour la formation continue.

Vous souhaitez vous faire conseiller personnellement sur l'examen professionnel ? Consultez les écoles qui vous conviennent et contactez le prestataire de votre choix en cliquant sur le bouton "Infos gratuites sur le thème..." - sans engagement, rapidement et facilement.

Auto-test "Chef cuisinier avec brevet fédéral / Chef cuisinière avec brevet fédéral" : Cette formation est-elle faite pour moi ?

Consultez nos infos, conseils et tests pour en savoir plus sur les exigences, le contenu, les coûts et la durée de la formation.

Télécharger les check-lists

Check-list «Trouver la bonne formation continue» » télécharger ici

Check-list «Choisir la bonne école» » télécharger ici

Chef(fe) cuisinier(e) : l'ancienne formation de cuisinier(e) gastronomique pour une carrière dans la cuisine

L'ancienne formation de "cuisinier/cuisinière en restauration d'hôpital, de home et de collectivité" ou de "cuisinier/cuisinière en restauration" porte depuis 2001, respectivement 2011, le nom de "chef/cheffe de cuisine (BP)". Les chefs de cuisine sont considérés comme des spécialistes de l'application de méthodes de cuisson, de la conception et de la création de plats et de produits culinaires. Ils gèrent la cuisine d'un restaurant, d'un hôtel ou d'une autre entreprise ou institution avec compétence et professionnalisme. Pour ce faire, ils font toujours appel à leurs connaissances techniques approfondies dans les domaines du marketing, de l'organisation de l'entreprise et du calcul des coûts. Les chefs de cuisine sont considérés comme des personnes dirigeantes dans la cuisine gastronomique et portent donc la responsabilité des apprentis et de l'ensemble des collaborateurs/trices.

La formation de chef cuisinier (BP) s'effectue en cours d'emploi et dure environ un an. Elle comprend les modules suivants

  • Connaissance de la cuisine et des aliments
  • Ventes et marketing
  • Organisation de l'entreprise
  • Finances
  • Guide

Pour être admis dans la filière de formation continue, il faut avoir terminé un apprentissage de cuisinier/cuisinière avec certificat fédéral de capacité ou un diplôme équivalent. En outre, il faut avoir au moins trois ans d'expérience professionnelle en tant que cuisinier ou cuisinière et avoir suivi un cours de maître d'apprentissage (cours de formateur).

Vous trouverez de plus amples informations dans notre auto-test.

Questions et réponses

En principe, il n'est pas obligatoire de suivre un cours préparatoire, mais c'est fortement recommandé. Les connaissances et compétences requises pour l'examen professionnel y sont enseignées de manière pratique. Pour être admis à l'examen final, vous avez en effet besoin des certificats de module ou des attestations de module correspondants. En outre, les procédures d'examen d'équivalence peuvent être très coûteuses.

Comme la formation continue de chef cuisinier / chef cuisinière avec brevet fédéral est une formation en cours d'emploi, les horaires des cours sont bien entendu aussi adaptés à votre profession de cuisinier / cuisinière CFC. Dans ce cas, cela signifie que vous ne suivez pas un cours une ou deux fois par semaine le soir ou le week-end, mais que vous suivez des cours en bloc qui s'étendent sur une année. De cette manière, vous avez la possibilité de prendre congé de manière ciblée à ces moments-là et de suivre six cours blocs de cinq jours chacun.

La formation continue menant à l'examen professionnel fédéral de "chef cuisinier / cheffe cuisinière avec brevet fédéral" correspond à l'ancienne désignation du titre professionnel de "cuisinier gastronomique / cuisinière gastronomique".

Il n'est pas possible de devenir chef cuisinier ou cheffe cuisinière directement après un apprentissage. Toutes les compétences et aptitudes nécessaires doivent être acquises progressivement. Cela signifie que vous suivez d'abord une formation de cuisinier ou de cuisinière avec un CFC et qu'après quelques années d'expérience professionnelle, vous commencez une formation continue pour devenir chef cuisinier.

Une expérience professionnelle après une formation initiale de cuisinier/cuisinière est indispensable pour entamer une formation continue de chef/cheffe BF. Au moins trois ans de pratique professionnelle dans votre métier doivent être présentés jusqu'à l'examen professionnel.

Conseils, tests et informations sur "Chef cuisinier avec brevet fédéral / Chef cuisinière avec brevet fédéral".

La formation de "chef cuisinier avec brevet fédéral / chef cuisinière avec EFA" me convient-elle ?
» Autotest
Quelles sont les exigences du poste de chef cuisinier/cheffe cuisinière ? Comment les activités se répartissent-elles ?
» Informations tirées des annonces d'emploi

Redaktionelle Leitung:

Stefan Schmidlin, Bildungsberatung, Content-Team Modula AG

Quellen

Website des Schweizerischen Sekretariats für Bildung, Forschung und Innovation SBFI , Website www.berufsberatung.ch (offizielles schweizerisches Informationsportal der Studien-, Berufs- und Laufbahnberatung) sowie Websites und anderweitige Informationen der Berufsverbände und Bildungsanbieter.

Erfahrungen, Bewertungen und Meinungen zur Ausbildung / Weiterbildung

Aperçu de la vidéo «4 Schritte zur richtigen Weiterbildung»

Vous n'avez pas encore trouvé la formation initiale ou continue qui vous convient ? Profitez maintenant d'un conseil en formation !

Se former n'est pas seulement important pour maintenir ou augmenter l'attractivité professionnelle, investir dans une formation initiale ou continue reste le moyen le plus efficace d'augmenter ses chances d'obtenir une augmentation de salaire.

Le système éducatif suisse offre un grand choix de possibilités individuelles de formation et de perfectionnement - en fonction du niveau de formation personnel, de l'expérience professionnelle et de l'objectif de formation.

Le choix de la bonne offre de formation n'est pas facile pour de nombreuses personnes intéressées par la formation.

Quelle est la formation initiale et continue qui me convient le mieux ?

Notre équipe de conseillers en formation vous guide dans la "jungle de la formation", vous donne des informations concrètes et des informations de fond pertinentes pour choisir la bonne offre.

Vos avantages :

Vous recevrez

  • Propositions de cours, séminaires ou stages appropriés sur la base des informations que vous avez fournies dans le questionnaire.
  • Une vue d'ensemble des différents niveaux et types d'éducation
  • Renseignements sur le système éducatif suisse

Sur demande, nous proposons nos conseils en matière de formation dans les langues suivantes : français, italien, anglais

Inscrivez-vous maintenant et concrétisez vos projets de formation continue.

 

Sofort zur richtigen Weiterbildung

Filtrer par forme d'enseignement:
Présence (0) En ligne (0) Apprentissage mixte (0) Autres (0)
Adresse:
Eichistrasse 20
6353 Weggis
Hotel & Gastro formation Suisse
Planifiez votre carrière avec Hotel & Gastro formation - nous vous menons au succès avec des brevets et des diplômes fédéraux dans l'hôtellerie et la restauration. Depuis 1926, nous sommes au service de l'hôtellerie et de la gastronomie et vous proposons des formations continues passionnantes dans le plus bel endroit du lac des Quatre-Cantons, à Weggis.
Région: Westschweiz, Zentralschweiz
Sites: Lonay, Weggis
Adresse:
Blumenfeldstrasse 22
8046 Zürich
Centre de formation GastroZürich
Gastro Kanton Zürich - L'union fait la force pour l'hôtellerie-restauration
Gastro Kanton Zürich défend les intérêts de l'hôtellerie-restauration auprès du public et des autorités. Tous nos efforts visent à offrir aux restaurateurs les meilleures conditions pour réussir dans la restauration.
Dans notre centre de formation, nous proposons une offre de cours complète, attrayante et moderne pour la formation et le perfectionnement dans l'hôtellerie-restauration. Nos cours développent les compétences professionnelles et personnelles et aident les restaurateurs à gérer leur établissement avec succès.
Région: Zürich
Sites: Zürich

Schulen mit zertifizierter Bildungsberatung