Chef: Training, further education, overview of providers, self-test

to providers
(2)
Infos, tips & tests Video stories
(1)

Are you interested in chef training, further training? - Here you will find suitable schools as well as further information, tips and resources for further training.

Would you like personal advice on professional examinations? Take a look at the suitable schools and contact the provider of your choice with one click via the "Free information on the topic..." button - without obligation, quickly and easily.

Self-test "Chef with a federal certificate": Is this course the right one for me?

You can find out more about the requirements, content, costs and duration of the course in our information, tips and tests.

Download checklists

Checklist «Finding the right further training» » download here

Checklist «Choosing the right school» » download here

Head chef: Former training as a catering chef for a career in the kitchen

The former training as a "chef in hospital, residential and communal catering" or "catering chef" has been called "head chef (BP)" since 2001 and 2011 respectively. Chefs are considered experts in the application of cooking methods and the design and creation of culinary dishes and products. They manage the kitchen of a restaurant, hotel or other business or institution expertly and professionally. In doing so, they always draw on their sound specialist knowledge in the areas of marketing, business organization and costing. Chefs are regarded as leaders in the catering kitchen and are therefore responsible for apprentices and all employees.

The training as a head chef (BP) is completed on a part-time basis and lasts approximately one year. It comprises the following modules:

  • Cookery and food science
  • Sales and marketing
  • Company organization
  • Finances
  • Guidance

The prerequisite for admission to the further training course is a completed apprenticeship as a chef with a federal certificate of competence or an equivalent qualification. In addition, at least three years of professional experience as a chef and a completed master teacher course (vocational trainer course) are required.

You can find more information in our self-test.

Questions and answers

In principle, it is not mandatory to attend a preparation course, but it is highly recommended. Here you will be taught the knowledge and skills required for the BP in a practice-oriented manner. In order to be admitted to the final examination, you will need the relevant module qualifications or module certificates. In addition, equivalence assessment procedures can be very time-consuming.

You cannot become a head chef directly after completing an apprenticeship. You need to acquire all the necessary skills and competencies on a progressive basis. This means that you first train as a chef with a Federal Diploma of Vocational Education and Training (VET Diploma) and, after a few years of work experience, begin continuing education, further training as a head chef.

Professional experience after basic training as a chef is essential to start continuing education, further training as a chef FPE. You must have at least three years of professional experience in your profession before taking the Federal Professional Examination.

As continuing education, further training to become a chef with a Federal VET Diploma is a part-time course, the course times are of course also tailored to your profession as a Federal VET Diploma chef. In this case, this means that you do not attend a course once or twice a week in the evening or at the weekend, but attend block courses over the course of a year. This gives you the opportunity to take time off at these times and attend six block courses of five days each.

The continuing education, further training for the Federal Professional Examination "Chef with Federal Diploma of Higher Education" corresponds to the former title of "Gastronomy Chef".

Tips, tests and information on "Chef with a federal certificate"

Is the "Chef with federal certificate / Chef with EFA" course suitable for me?
» Self-test
What is required in the job of head chef? How are the tasks divided up?
» Information from job advertisements

Redaktionelle Leitung:

Stefan Schmidlin, Bildungsberatung, Content-Team Modula AG

Quellen

Website des Schweizerischen Sekretariats für Bildung, Forschung und Innovation SBFI , Website www.berufsberatung.ch (offizielles schweizerisches Informationsportal der Studien-, Berufs- und Laufbahnberatung) sowie Websites und anderweitige Informationen der Berufsverbände und Bildungsanbieter.

Erfahrungen, Bewertungen und Meinungen zur Ausbildung / Weiterbildung

Preview of the video «4 Schritte zur richtigen Weiterbildung»

Haven't found the right training or further education yet? Benefit from educational advice now!

Further training is not only important in order to maintain or increase professional attractiveness, investing in training or further training is still the most efficient way to increase the chances of a pay rise.

The Swiss education system offers a wide range of individual training and further education opportunities - depending on your personal level of education, professional experience and educational goals.

Choosing the right educational offer is not easy for many prospective students.

Which training and further education is the right one for my path?

Our education advisory team will guide you through the "education jungle", providing specific input and relevant background information to help you choose the right offer.

Your advantages:

You will receive

  • Suggestions for suitable courses, seminars or training programs based on the information you provide in the questionnaire
  • An overview of the different levels and types of education
  • Information about the Swiss education system

We offer our educational counseling in the following languages on request: French, Italian, English

Register now and concretize your training plans.

 

Sofort zur richtigen Weiterbildung

Filter by teaching method:
Classroom (0) Online (0) Blended Learning (0) Other (0)
Address:
Eichistrasse 20
6353 Weggis
Hotel & Gastro formation Switzerland
Plan your career with Hotel & Gastro formation - we will lead you to success with federal certificates and diplomas in the hospitality industry. We have been serving the hotel and catering industry since 1926 and offer you exciting further training courses in the most beautiful location on Lake Lucerne in Weggis.
Region: Westschweiz, Zentralschweiz
Sites: Lonay, Weggis
Address:
Blumenfeldstrasse 22
8046 Zürich
GastroZurich Education Center
Gastro Kanton Zürich - Strong together for the hospitality industry
Gastro Kanton Zürich represents the interests of the hospitality industry in public and with the authorities. All our efforts are aimed at providing restaurateurs with the best conditions for successful hospitality.
In our training center, we offer a comprehensive, attractive and up-to-date range of courses for hospitality industry training and continuing education, further training. Our courses promote professional and personal skills and help restaurateurs to run their businesses successfully.
Region: Zürich
Sites: Zürich

Schulen mit zertifizierter Bildungsberatung

Chefkoch / Chefköchin: Ausbildung, Weiterbildung, Übersicht Anbieter, Selbsttest

zu den Anbietern
(2)
Infos, Tipps & Tests Video-Storys
(1)

Interessieren Sie sich für eine Chefkoch-Ausbildung, Weiterbildung? – Hier finden Sie passende Schulen sowie weitere Infos, Tipps und Hilfsmittel zur Weiterbildung.

Möchten Sie sich gerne persönlich zur Berufsprüfung beraten lassen? Schauen Sie sich die passenden Schulen an und kontaktieren Sie den Anbieter Ihrer Wahl mit einem Klick über den «Kostenlos Infos zum Thema…»-Button – unverbindlich, schnell und einfach.

Selbsttest «Chefkoch mit eidg. Fachausweis / Chefköchin mit eidg. Fachausweis»: Ist dieser Lehrgang für mich der Richtige?

In unseren Infos, Tipps und Tests erfahren Sie mehr über die Anforderungen, Inhalte, Kosten und Dauer des Lehrganges. 

Checklisten herunterladen

Checkliste «Die richtige Weiterbildung finden» » hier herunterladen

Checkliste «Wahl der richtigen Schule» » hier herunterladen

Chefkoch / Chefköchin: Die ehemalige Ausbildung als Gastronomiekoch/-köchin für eine Karriere in der Küche

Die ehemalige Ausbildung als "Koch/Köchin der Spital-, Heim- und Gemeinschaftsgastronomie" resp. "Gastronomiekoch / Gastronomieköchin" trägt seit 2001 bzw. 2011 den Namen «Chefkoch / Chefköchin (BP)». Chefköche und Chefköchinnen gelten als Fachleute bei der Anwendung von Kochmethoden und der Gestaltung sowie Kreation von kulinarischen Gerichten und Produkten. Sie managen die Küche eines Restaurants, eines Hotels oder eines anderen Betriebes oder einer Institution fachmännisch und professionell. Dabei greifen sie stets auf ihre fundierten Fachkenntnisse in den Bereichen Marketing, Betriebsorganisation und Kalkulation zurück. Die Chefs der Küche gelten als Führungspersonen in der Gastronomieküche und tragen deshalb die Verantwortung für die Lernenden und sämtliche Mitarbeiter/innen.

Die Ausbildung als Chefkoch, als Chefköchin (BP) wird berufsbegleitend absolviert und dauert ca. ein Jahr. Sie umfasst die Module:

  • Kochkunde und Lebensmittelkunde
  • Verkauf und Marketing
  • Betriebsorganisation
  • Finanzen
  • Führung

Voraussetzung für die Aufnahme in den Weiterbildungsgang ist eine abgeschlossene Lehre als Koch bzw. Köchin mit eidgenössischem Fähigkeitszeugnis oder ein gleichwertiger Abschluss. Darüber hinaus sind mindestens drei Jahre Berufserfahrung als Koch oder Köchin und eine abgeschlossener Lehrmeisterkurs (Berufsbildnerkurs) vorzuweisen.

Weiterführende Informationen finden Sie in unserem Selbsttest.

Fragen und Antworten

Grundsätzlich ist es nicht zwingend notwendig, einen Vorbereitungskurs zu besuchen, es wird aber sehr empfohlen. Hier werden Ihnen die erforderlichen Kenntnisse und Kompetenzen für die BP praxisorientiert vermittelt. Um zur Abschlussprüfung zugelassen zu werden, benötigen Sie ja die entsprechenden Modulabschlüsse resp. Modulausweise. Ausserdem können Verfahren für die Prüfung der Gleichwertigkeit sehr aufwendig sein. 

Die Weiterbildung zur eidg Berufsprüfung „Chefkoch / Chefköchin mit eidg. Fachausweis“ entspricht der früheren Bezeichnung des Berufstitels „Gastronomiekoch / Gastronomieköchin“.

Da es sich bei der Weiterbildung zum Chefkoch / zur Chefköchin mit eidgenössischem Fachausweis um einen berufsbegleitenden Lehrgang handelt, sind die Kurszeiten selbstverständlich auch auf Ihren Beruf als Koch / Köchin EFZ abgestimmt. Das bedeutet in diesem Fall, dass Sie nicht einmal oder zweimal wöchentlich abends oder am Wochenende einen Kurs besuchen, sondern Blockveranstaltungen belegen, die sich über ein Jahr erstrecken. Auf diese Weise haben Sie die Möglichkeit, sich gezielt zu diesen Zeiten frei zu nehmen und sechs Blockkurse zu jeweils fünf Tagen zu besuchen.

Berufserfahrung nach einer Grundbildung zum Koch / zur Köchin ist unabdingbar, um eine Weiterbildung zum Chefkoch / zur Chefköchin BP zu beginnen. Mindestens drei Jahre Berufspraxis in Ihrem Beruf sind bis zur Berufsprüfung vorzuweisen.

Chefkoch oder Chefköchin können Sie nicht direkt nach einer Berufslehre werden. Alle dazu benötigten Kompetenzen und Fertigkeiten müssen Sie aufbauend erwerben. Das bedeutet, dass Sie zuerst eine Ausbildung zum Koch oder zur Köchin mit eidgenössischem Fähigkeitszeugnis EFZ machen und nach einigen Jahren Arbeitserfahrung eine Weiterbildung zum Chef-Koch beginnen.

Tipps, Tests und Infos zu «Chefkoch mit eidg. Fachausweis / Chefköchin mit eidg. Fachausweis»

Passt der Lehrgang «Chefkoch mit eidg. Fachausweis / Chefköchin mit EFA» zu mir?
» Selbsttest
Was wird im Job Chefkoch / Chefköchin verlangt? Wie teilen sich die Tätigkeiten auf?
» Informationen aus Stelleninseraten

Redaktionelle Leitung:

Stefan Schmidlin, Bildungsberatung, Content-Team Modula AG

Quellen

Website des Schweizerischen Sekretariats für Bildung, Forschung und Innovation SBFI , Website www.berufsberatung.ch (offizielles schweizerisches Informationsportal der Studien-, Berufs- und Laufbahnberatung) sowie Websites und anderweitige Informationen der Berufsverbände und Bildungsanbieter.

Erfahrungen, Bewertungen und Meinungen zur Ausbildung / Weiterbildung

Vorschaubild des Videos «4 Schritte zur richtigen Weiterbildung»

Die richtige Aus- oder Weiterbildung noch nicht gefunden? Jetzt von einer Bildungsberatung profitieren!

Sich weiterzubilden ist nicht nur wichtig, um die berufliche Attraktivität halten bzw. steigern zu können, nach wie vor ist die Investition in eine Aus- oder Weiterbildung der effizienteste Weg, um die Chancen auf eine Lohnerhöhung zu steigern.

Das Schweizer Bildungssystem bietet eine grosse Auswahl an individuellen Aus- und Weiterbildungsmöglichkeiten – je nach persönlichem Bildungsstand, Berufserfahrung und Ausbildungsziel.

Die Wahl des richtigen Bildungsangebotes fällt vielen Bildungsinteressenten/-innen nicht leicht.

Welche Aus- und Weiterbildung ist für meinen Weg nun die richtige?

Unser Bildungsberatungs-Team führt Sie durch den «Bildungs-Dschungel», gibt konkrete Inputs und relevante Hintergrundinformationen zur Wahl des richtigen Angebotes.

Ihre Vorteile:

Sie erhalten

  • Vorschläge für passende Kurse, Seminare oder Lehrgänge aufgrund Ihrer Angaben im Fragebogen
  • Einen Überblick über die verschiedenen Bildungsstufen und Bildungsarten
  • Auskunft über das Bildungssystem Schweiz

Wir bieten unsere Bildungsberatung auf Wunsch in folgenden Sprachen an: Französisch, Italienisch, Englisch

Jetzt anmelden und Ihre Weiterbildungspläne konkretisieren.

 

Sofort zur richtigen Weiterbildung

Filtern nach Unterrichtsform:
Präsenz (0) Online (0) Blended Learning (0) Andere (0)
Adresse:
Eichistrasse 20
6353 Weggis
Hotel & Gastro formation Schweiz
Planen Sie Ihre Karriere mit Hotel & Gastro formation - Wir führen Sie zum Erfolg mit eidgenössischen Fachausweisen und Diplomen im Gastgewerbe. Seit 1926 sind wir im Dienste für Hotellerie und Gastronomie tätig und bieten Ihnen spannende Weiterbildungen an schönster Lage am Vierwaldstättersee in Weggis an.
Region: Westschweiz, Zentralschweiz
Standorte: Lonay, Weggis
Adresse:
Blumenfeldstrasse 22
8046 Zürich
GastroZürich Bildungszentrum
Gastro Kanton Zürich - Gemeinsam stark für das Gastgewerbe
Gastro Kanton Zürich vertritt die Interessen des Gastgewerbes in der Öffentlichkeit und bei Behörden. Alle unsere Bemühungen zielen darauf ab, den Gastronomen die besten Voraussetzungen für erfolgreiches Wirten zu bieten.
In unserem Bildungszentrum bieten wir ein umfassendes, attraktives und zeitgemässes Kursangebot zur gastgewerblichen Aus- und Weiterbildung. Unsere Kurse fördern die fachlichen und persönlichen Kompetenzen und unterstützen Gastronomen dabei, ihre Betriebe erfolgreich zu führen.
Region: Zürich
Standorte: Zürich

Schulen mit zertifizierter Bildungsberatung